Grinnell Bloggers

LIVES DETOURED OVER I-80 EXIT 182

Second Thoughts

What I should have said from the get-go: PLEASE ADD THIS PAGE TO YOUR OWN BLOGROLL. It will help other Grinnellians find this page AND it will help other people who liked your blog find all of our interesting and eclectic blogs too.

Things I know I would love to see here:

+ a Flickr pool of everyone’s photos. I’m not on Flickr, so who knows how and will set that up for us?

+ a slideshow of that Flickr pool in one of the columns on the right. Know of a widget for WordPress or can make one?

+ Grinnell/Iowa images from Grinnellians highlighted in the photo header. The one there now was stolen from David Kennedy‘s site (sorry, David) . . .

+ useful browsing categories. Thus far we have: Personal, Professional (in which I am including any blog focusing on a topic other than the writer themselves), Bookish, Foodie, Crafty, Current Student, Grad Student, Faculty, International, Selling Our Wares. It’s been suggested we add locations and class years (which I can’t do without input from all of you, unfortunately).

+ some way to divide the categories from the blogroll. Any brilliant programming tricks?

+ a widget like the one at Frugal Hacks that shows which blogs have recently updated — can you make it?

+ some form of syndication which will post, say, 10 of those updated blog posts per day on this page — how do we do that?

+ more older alum blogs — how can we get the word out to people who aren’t Plans users?

+ anyone who likes the idea of this page well enough to co-admin. It’s glamorous, I swear!

Mike suggested posting on every single blog and using tags to sort through them easily. If we syndicate, I don’t think that’s going to work BUT I came across this idea today — the Great Interview Project — and think that it would be fairly easy to replicate as well as introduce us to the wide variety of blogs and bloggers in the blogroll. Everyone would host the original interviews on their own sites, and I have created a page where they can all be added as comments that we can browse through in order. To participate, leave a comment on that page.

What would you like to see here? Leave your ideas and suggestions in the comments.

4 Comments»

  Paula wrote @

Yo yo yo. Just heads up, my blog is a food blog. And also, if my two cents count for anything, I HATE the word foodie. Other than that, props for this site.

  poetloverrebelspy wrote @

Thanks for correcting the oversight, Paula. I added the food category after half the blogs were already entered and figured things would sort themselves out later 🙂 Anyone else feeling left out of a category, feel free to email.

Does it help that I mean foodie like the adjectival form of food and not in the person obsessed with good eats way? Can you think of another short, easily recognizable label? Gourmet or Gourmand doesn’t work, since most are not about fancy eats . . .

  Paula wrote @

Yeah, it does help that you mean it as an adjective. However (and here’s where I put my Grinnell hat on) it’s kind of a buzzword that’s loaded with all kinds of meaning you probably wouldn’t expect. Basically, it’s a pretty elitist word. People who like the word like knowing that it describes them and not other people, that you have to know certain things to be a part of the foodie mafia.

People who hate the word (like me, like–in theory, anyway–chow.com, seriouseats.com, which is run by Grinnell alum Ed Levine, btw.) tend to think of it as being a little exclusionary. Good food doesn’t belong to a certain sect of people. Isn’t that what’s so awesome about thinking hard about the things we eat? That absolutely everyone does it? Not to mention the fact that it’s a pretty classist way to refer to someone. What, I can’t afford to eat at Babbo so I can’t be one of you?

Anyway, that’s probably more than you wanted to know, but that’s why I feel really strongly about it. I like just plain old ‘Food Blog’, personally, because looking through the ones listed, I think we’re all writing about pretty different subject. I’ve also heard ‘Food Nerd’ (from Bourdain, who has good reason to not want to alienate ‘foodies’ but also would understandably hate the word), and I think pretty much everyone here would agree that we all qualify as that.

  Kate wrote @

I’ve created a flickr pool for the blog of blogs:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/exit182/

It is currently public (anyone can join) and I am the only administrator. There are no limits to the number of photos that can be uploaded. I’ve not put any kind of restrictions on what photos can be included.

Let me know if there are restrictions you want me to put on it.


Leave a Reply

